Significance

 There was a full moon the other night.  I stood outside in awe of the beauty I beheld, then quickly ran inside, grabbed my camera and wondered, “why do I want a picture of this?”  I feel small when I look into the sky.  I wonder, as I did as a little girl, just how far is heaven?  I look around and I see beauty all around me (yes, even in the Texas Panhandle) and I think of how much wonder there will be in heaven. 
 Is it just me, or have you noticed when your head is only looking forward or down, all you focus on is a bend toward the negative or unpleasant things and you are closed off?  But then you look up, you see things you hadn’t seen before.  You have a hope, and an expectation of what’s to come and you are open… and you realize how little you really are.  This really got me thinking. We were all created with a need to feel significant.  We want to feel like we matter, like we have something to offer.  Initially, I tried to do this by emulating those who I admired, or by being who I thought others wanted me to be.  It never felt authentic, which sent me spinning into tremendous hurt.  Why did I do that?  Because I didn’t think what I had to offer had any significance.  So, I searched, prayed, studied, and realized that true love and acceptance waited for me on the other side by the only one who can give it to me.  God created me to be me.  He created me to look up.  Anytime I feel down, I remember Psalm 121:1 “I lift my eyes unto the hills- where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.”  He also gave me a mate who continually shows me agape love and desires to see me grow more and more into who I really am.  I realize, who I am, or what I have to offer this world isn’t for everyone, but I know I have a purpose, I have talents and gifts, and I have love to offer this world in a way that is unique.  I know God has me in touch with specific people and their lives for a reason, and hopefully I’m doing my part in the way I need to be.  I know I’m flawed,  I know I don’t always do what I should or say what I should, but I’m on my journey, and I’m learning so much along the way.  There is only one me, and there is only one you.  So, I challenge you… go outside, look up and feel insignificant for a few moments, and then realize how truly significant you are.  How no one else in this world can play the role that He designed you play.  You are in touch with all the people in your life for a reason. Discover what that purpose is, and begin to fulfill it.
3 thoughts on “Significance

  1. Yea Kelly! I love it! 🙂 I'll be anxious to see what you post each and every time you update. I loved reading your post and I'm so glad I'm getting to know you better.

  2. Hey Kel! God put us in each other's lives so we could dance, dance, dance to bad 80s music in our bedrooms in junior high!!! I'm now teaching those sweet moves to my sons — trying not to warp them. :> I didn't know you were a shutter-bug. Are you taking a photography class? I love you, friend.

Leave a Reply

