Wisdom from Your Children

I was listening to GMA this morning when Michael J. Fox came on to talk about his new book A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future.  He talked about how when his son was 4 or 5 years old, he was excited about going to school, and somewhere in the conversation he told his son that he never finished school.  So, his son asked CAN you go back and finish school? Michael told him that yes, he could, but that he probably wouldn’t at this point in his life.  So his son said, “But if you CAN, why wouldn’t you?”  Michael then said, “Wisdom comes from being old enough to know how much you can learn from your children.”  I loved that quote!  It resonated with me.  

Just this past week, as I was struggling with some things concerning a relationship in my life, Ol’ Blue Eyes and I were talking about it, and I was alittle teary, and he was too.  How to deal with a hurt that we keep opening ourselves up to and get hurt once again.  

Now meet my oldest punk.

About 20 minutes after our conversation ended, my oldest punk, who is 13,  came into the study and gave me profound wisdom concerning the relationship.  Profound!  So profound that I knew at that moment, without a doubt, God had spoken through him and delivered a profound message to me.  Every cell in my body told me that what he said was true, accurate, and loving.  I couldn’t speak.  I just welled up with tears because his words just hit me.  You see, for many years we’ve struggled with this relationship, we’ve received counseling, we’ve talked to christian mentors in our lives, we’ve prayed and cried out to God to show us his way in this.  We’ve not left a rock unturned.  God has shown us  that these struggles and hurts have been the exact things that have kept us on our knees and grown our faith and helped us understand the truth in James 1:2 “Dear brother and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.”  Why?  Because this is when God is most present.  


So, I went along, and went onto my bible study Tuesday, and we were studying 2 Timothy 3:1-5.  Godlessness in the last days.  How our trials will be with people and what those characteristics are.  It was honestly not a very positive lesson until about the last 10 minutes when my teacher said, “we are in the worst of times – yes- but we are in the best of times.”  Go to Acts 2:17 In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people.  Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams.”  I just welled up with tears again.  I thought back to my son and his loving, convicting words, and I knew that God had poured His Spirit out, in my study, in that moment.  I’m humbled.  I’m speechless.  I’m prostrate.  The fact that I go along in my life, deceived and thinking I ‘m powerless when I’m not.  I get caught living the Un-life, and forget that The One, loved me enough to pour out His life to give me the Abundant Life. It’s not just for others, it’s for me.  He gently shows me, again and again, and I’m left speechless.  Speechless at His gentleness, speechless at His presence, speechless at His love, and speechless at His ability to use various people to speak to me.  I can sum it all up with this… God used His Son to deliver a profound message to the world, and in a moment I will never forget, God used my son to deliver a profound message to me.  I am amazed by His ways.
2 thoughts on “Wisdom from Your Children

Leave a Reply

