Antiquing

My punks and I have a yearly tradition.  Every year before they go back to school, we go pilfer through other people’s junk, I mean we go antiquing to see what we can find.  This year I found the neatest ceramic thing-a-ma-jig.  Can you guess what it is?  Here is a closer look.

On the outside, it’s a honeycomb with two bees on the outside.  But on the inside……

Whaaa Laaaa!  Is this the cutest measuring cup you’ve ever seen?

I can’t begin to tell you how tickled I am with this new find of mine!

Thank you Victor Goldman Inc.  I’ll be looking for more of your pieces the next time my punks and I go antiquing.  Other than this cute little ditty, I got a potato masher.

I know.  It’s so exciting, isn’t it?

I also got this spatula that is no longer made, but my mom, my aunt’s, my grandma’s, they all have one of these, and I was able to find it new, still in it’s original packaging.  You just can’t know the elation, the excitement that I too am in the spatula club!  The Servespoon, a multipurpose kitchen tool and all purpose kitchen helper!  It TURNS, SCRAPES, MIXES, CHOPS, and DRAINS!  I don’t think you understand.  This spatula means I am “official” in the kitchen as a cook!  I am validated by all womankind!  Ok, maybe not, but I just needed you to understand the legacy, the importance  of the spatula.

So there you have it.  I’m so tickled, I’m standing beside myself.  Really, I am.  I don’t know if I can wait another year to go antiquing.  I may have to go without my punks and see what other treasures I can find.  Although, I won’t get the goofy pictures like this.

Or this.

Or be asked so innocently, “Mama, what are these?”

“The tag says de-nutters, sweetheart.”  And there you have it.  Our educational experience of the day.  Whoever says kids minds turn to mush over the summer must’ve never taken their kids antiquing.

3 thoughts on “Antiquing

  1. That’s RAD that your kids go Antiquing with you! My Mom and Grandma use to take me…that’s why I love it SOOO much!

Leave a Reply

