Your Other Mom

There is something I have not yet told you.   Some of you know, some of you don’t, but here it is.   I…. am…. a stepmom.  Yes, the day I said my wedding vows to Ol’ Blue Eyes is also the day that I simultaneously stepped into motherhood 17 years ago.

I am the proud mama of two bustling boys who came from my womb, but I am also the mama of another special boy who was born from my heart.

Being a step mom is a very difficult journey for one to take, but I know that being one has formed me into who I am today.  In other words, I am who I am today because I am a Stepmom.
He’s lived with us, he’s lived with his mom, we’ve experienced it all.  Now he’s grown and in college and finding his way wondering do I take this path or that and longing to make something of his life.


I’ve cried with him.  I’ve cried because of him, just like I have with my own punks.   Through it all, the good and the bad, I’ve found that one thing is all he wants.  It’s the exact same thing my punks want.  He just wants to be loved.  He just wants to know he has a place here.  He longs to feel secure, and (even though he’s 20) he is another one of my punks.  I love him and I want him to have a blessed life.

So, what’s my secret to being a stepmom?  I have no idea.  I’ve been at this for 17 years and I still don’t have this gig figured out.  I do notice that when he stops by, it’s always around dinnertime, so I know he likes my cookin.  So I guess I’ll just keep on cookin.  Young man + good cookin= coming home.  I like that equation.

Disclaimer:  All above photos were taken after Myles had a belly full of my homemade pizza.  Quickly after dinner, an airsoft war ensued with all the neighborhood punks against Myles.
Also important to note:  Myles is trying to show us his yoga moves in the last picture.
Very important to note:  Myles is going to kill me for showing you his yoga moves.
I love you Myles!  XOXO~ YOM 🙂

Leave a Reply

