Veterans Day

Dana Johnson 1968

This is my dad in 1968.  He served our country in the Vietnam War.  He and my mom had hardly been married when he began his training, and then he left for his tour of Vietnam.  I cannot imagine what that was like for both of them.

I know a few things for sure.

Just a few.

One of those things is that this part of my mom and dad’s life and marriage was unbelievably hard and was huge in shaping them and their beliefs.

The other is that serving our country is the most honorable thing anyone could do.  Period.

Today I am grateful for all the men and women who serve or have served.  I am thankful for the many freedoms my children and I enjoy because they defended and are always defending that for me and this great country.   My prayers are with those families whose loved ones have fallen and for those currently serving.  I am humbled and in awe.  Thank you doesn’t seem like enough.  I am so grateful and so proud to be an American because of YOU.

Today, honor the Veterans in your life.  May we never forget the sacrifices of our men and women for this country.

God Bless America!

One more thing.

Thank you for your service Dad.  I’m so proud of you and I love you!

Love,

Kel

Leave a Reply

