First Snow

If there is one thing I love about the Texas panhandle, it’s the weather.

The day before yesterday, I looked out the window and I saw the sun peeking through the bright changing leaves on the tree.  I grabbed my camera, stepped outside and took a few pictures.  It was beautiful.

IMG_8940_edited-1

When I turned, I saw this corner of my yard where I have greenery growing up the fence.  It was so pretty and changing its color.  It looked so “Fall.”

IMG_8942_edited-2

Last night, we had a pretty big thunderstorm come through.   All night long, the thunder and lighting would wake us all up.  This morning (after my dad accidentally dialed me… again) my oldest punk came in and said there was snow on the ground.  I couldn’t believe it!  It was thundering and lightning and snowing all at the same time!

Craziness!  I live in Crazyville!  Yes, that’s a word.  I just made it up, therefore it’s official.

Here is my little corner this morning.

IMG_8959_edited-1

And my tree…

IMG_8955_edited-1 copy

And my poor oak tree in the front yard that I prayed would not snap into pieces…

IMG_8963_edited-1

In these parts we always say, “if you don’t like the weather, just stick around for a bit because it’ll change soon.”

Right after I took this shot, it began snowing flakes the size of Big Macs.

It’s true.  I’m. Not. Exaggerating.

Now, here we are this afternoon.  I am glad to report that my tree is happy once again.

IMG_8985_edited-1

On the other hand, as you can see, my neighbors weren’t so lucky (darn it).

Who knows, maybe in another hour, it’ll be fall again around here.

I told you, I live in Crazyville!

One thought on “First Snow

  1. Yippie your tree made it..Not so much @ my house…Looks like our oldest biggest tree was hit by heavy wind storm. Snap in half. It will take a forklift to be moved off the lawn..I understand trees all over Amarillo were damage…Oh well the snow was beauiful looking out my window this morming. Who knows, we could be back wearing shorts next week….

Leave a Reply

