Yankee Style Pigs in the Blanket

IMG_0061_edited-1

You heard me right, it’s Yankee Style Pigs in the Blanket (have you forgotten my family is all up north?).  Around these parts, a pig in the blanket is sausage wrapped in some type of bread, but where I came from, it’s this.  Meatballs with rice and seasonings wrapped in cabbage leaves simmered in tomato soup and juice all day long.  My mom always cooked them on the stove top, but, I make mine in my crock pot.  It’s just much easier this way for me.

To begin, mix  2 lbs. lean hamburger, 2 c. cooked jasmine rice (or minute rice), 1 small diced onion, 4 diced garlic cloves,2 tsp. salt,2 tsp. pepper.

IMG_0047_edited-1

Next, form into meatballs and put into crock pot.  I always put a little tomato juice in the bottom of the crock pot first, then I begin to layer my meatballs along the outside edge.  Next, cover meatballs with undiluted tomato soup.  Cut cabbage up and put on top of meatballs.  Pour in tomato juice.

IMG_0049

Cover and let cook on low for 6 hours.

IMG_0061_edited-1

Print recipe

Leave a Reply

