Empty to fill

IMG_0018

One of the most profound chapters in One Thousand Gifts (which you should read… go get it right now…) was Chapter 10: Empty to fill

In the upside down economy of God, we give to receive… we empty to fill.

I’ve been sitting with this concept and it is… literally… everywhere.

Preacher man always preaches this concept in regard to tithing… but it is so much more than that.

Ann writes, “I once looked at photos of the dead Dead Sea, and we read how the Jordan River streams into the sea and nothing flows out of the sea and the salt content rises and everything dies.  I think of this.  That fullness grows foul.  Grace is alive, living waters.  If I dam up the grace, hold the blessings tight, joy within dies… waters that have no life.”

If I hold onto all my blessings… it all dies.

I walk around with these thoughts and He shows me through His creations…

trees empty of their leaves to receive new ones
flowers wither and new ones spring forth to life
the sun sets so that it can rise
a woman’s womb swells, gives life and empties… and yet swells, and gives life once again
Jesus came to serve, not to be served
Jesus gave His life, so we could have life

All empties so that it can fill.  It echoes everywhere… all around us… Empty to fill.

“I will bless you… and you will be a blessing.”  Genesis 12:2

Ah-ha…  It is all just to pass through me.

And now, I see… me… a writer who writes (empties) so that she can be filled once again…

and just maybe by sharing, by letting it pass through me, by giving… it may bind up the wounds of others, and in that process God binds up mine.

I am not alone in this…  look at other bloggers…  They empty to fill.

“It is only when our lives are emptied that we’re surprised by how truly full our lives were?  Instead of filling with expectations, the joy-filled expect nothing – and are filled.  This breath!  This oak tree!  This daisy!  This work!  This sky!  This place!  This day!  Surprise!” ~Ann Voskamp

In Spring, it is so very easy to see nature empty to fill.  What world kind of world would we live in if ALL of us emptied to fill?

Wow… just wow.

One thought on “Empty to fill

Leave a Reply

