Dinner at The Golden Bee

We had dinner at The Golden Bee which is on the property of The Broadmoor Hotel.

My friend Julie from Another Chance Ranch had told me about it and said it was tons of fun, so we went to check it out.  When you sit down to your table, they throw a sticky bee on you.  The Golden Bee is actually a restored authentic English Pub from the 19th century.  It came to America from London, England in the early 1800’s and was in business in the London Terrace section of New York City.

The Pub was dismantled to make way for an apartment complex.  It was all crated and stored in the Chelsea District Warehouse.  It was discovered by W & J Sloane and Co., a decorating firm hired by The Broadmoor Hotel.  Can you imagine discovering all of this?

They brought it all to The Broadmoor and the pub opened to patrons in 1961.

Englishmen say “You can tell a good pub by the way it fits around your shoulders.”  The Golden Bee does that.  It’s like an old shoe.

The atmosphere is warm, welcoming and fun.  The hand-carved mahogany surrounding you on all sides is quaint and simply beautiful.

At 8:30, a piano player comes along and you’re given a songbook to sing along.  We didn’t stay that late, but maybe the next time we can do that too.

My oldest punk ordered a Shepherd’s Pie.

My youngest punk and Ol’ Blue Eyes both got Bangers and Mash.

I hit the goldmine.

I ordered the Yorkshire Ham & Cheddar on a Pretzel Roll.  It was SO GOOD!  Ol’ Blue Eyes kept stealing bites.  It really was the very best sandwich I think I’ve ever eaten in my entire life.  The pretzel roll made the sandwich.

Conclusion:  I’ve GOT to find a recipe to make my own pretzel rolls and if I do, I’ll be sure to share it with you!

One thought on “Dinner at The Golden Bee

Leave a Reply

