My One Word for 2012

I wasnt going to do it.  I wasn’t going to have a word this year, but the thought of that wouldn’t let me go.

It started as a doodle.  An 18 x 24 doodle.  I’ve wanted to paint for days.  I’ve also been pondering what my one word for 2012 would be… and then those two things collided and it all came together. I’ve been taking Traci Bautista’s free online class through Strathmore, so using her tips for the class is where I began.

I started with this.

Then I took my Hydrus Watercolors and put them in Mini Misters, added a little water and started spraying.

Then I took all of that off and had this.

And with Pandora Coffee House station playing in the background, I organically created this.

I told myself that whatever drips or splatters or accidents would be happy mistakes.  Nothing would be a failure.  Just let go, have fun and create.

There is such freedom in that.

I haven’t shared this here, but this past year I’ve had some health issues. When we went to London last January, I could not recover.  I quit my job in March, and by April I would get up take the boys to school and go back to bed.  Then I’d brush my teeth and go back to bed.  It was redonk.  I kept thinking I would get better, but I finally called my doctor and he ran some blood tests.  Turns out, my blood level in my body was low, I was severely anemic, and my thyroid was whacked.  All of this combined was making me feel like poo.  I needed rest… and iron… and some thyroid hormone… and some more blood.

Even with medicine and iron going in my system, it has taken awhile to feel myself again.  I’m still coming back around, but this year is my year restore some things in my body, my health, my heart and my life.

And isn’t it amazing how when I let go and let my heart create something… I ended up putting RESTORATION right back in the heart? That was totally unintended by the way, but that’s how art heals.  These things just develop and happen and you look up and there it is.  Crazy!

What would be your one word for 2012?  I’d love for you to tell me.  Also, I’d love to tell you that I’m so happy and honored that you come here and read my adventures, what’s on my heart, and for your comments here.  That truly means so very much to me. Having this blog has been an awesome ride.  I’ve met bloggers from Paris, Holland, Phillipines, Canada, and all over the United States.  It is truly MY pleasure to connect to your blogs and read about your travels, art, and life. Thank you for liking my posts and following me.  It makes this blog all the more fun for me and I appreciate YOU.

Love,

Kelly

15 thoughts on “My One Word for 2012

  1. Oh Kelly, I love your word for 2012. And I am sorry for your health problems, I hope you continue on your track to feeling wonderful! All my best to you in 2012…I look forward to following along!

  2. “the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself RESTORE you AND make you strong, firm and steadfast. To Him be the power forever and ever. Amen”!!

  3. Wow, Kelly!! What a beautiful post and glorious piece of art you created. I love how it came to life for you. I’m sorry for your health issues and hope you continue to feel better day-by-day. I’ve never picked one little word, but have been pondering it for some time. It hasn’t come forth yet, but after reading your post I’m thinking there’s still a chance.

  4. Thank you Jules! Picking a word is so much easier than a resolution for me. Last year my word was BECOME. I wrote about it here http://mypunksmom.com/2011/01/03/my-one-word-for-2011/ and many if not most all of those things came true in some way. If restoration is my focus, I believe lots of healing will happen for me this year. All this to say… pick a word. It will impact you in ways you never dreamed and will bless you. Love ya Jules!

  5. I have to say how much I enjoy reading your posts and marvel at your creative talent! Though we are many miles apart, I sometimes think our hearts touch for a moment. I will be thinking of you and praying for complete and totally ReStoRatiOn in every element for you! You are an awesome mom and wife, and a talented artist as well! May the Spirit immerse you in healing, peace and love this year…and always. ❤

    • Thank you so much Amy! Your sweet words mean so much to me! It is hard being so far from family. I wish it were easier for me to get home more often. You too have an artistic eye. I see it in your beautiful photos. Love you!

Leave a Reply

