Balboa Park – San Diego, CA

IMG_4929

How could I blog about San Diego and NOT include Balboa Park? It’s impossible! So here I am, fallen in love with Balboa Park and so far away from it.

IMG_4912

I miss it already. I could walk around this place at least once a week for the rest of my life and most likely see something I’ve never seen before.

IMG_4868

The architecture and detailing is inspiring!

IMG_4909

You can read about the park’s history here, but I fell in love with the paths…

IMG_4902

the fountains…

IMG_4897

the man playing violin, the runners and all the different types of people…

IMG_4905

the sculptures…

IMG_4926

and the architecture.

IMG_4892

But what I really fell in love with was the Art Center.

IMG_4888

I walked in and saw this…

IMG_4887

and this, and I knew that these people spoke my language. My artsy, color loving, paint slinging self and my NEED to do what I do and nurture that part of myself was understood here.

IMG_4870

I could live in here. The succulent plants, the colored walk ways, the tile roofs, stucco walls and glorious turquoise doors. I loved this place.

IMG_4883

Then I saw some arrows leading me to a place…

IMG_4875

and I found a lady blowing glass. One was instructing, one was learning.  Into the kiln then…

IMG_4874

blow the glass and shape it always turning sometimes swinging.

IMG_4877

IMG_4878

Back into the kiln after swinging making it longer. All I know is that I want to do this sometime in my lifetime.

IMG_4881

I wish this was my front door to my house. I may have to sketch and paint this.

IMG_4885

I found so much inspiration in this little space.

IMG_4886

IMG_4884

Now I can’t wait to get going in my sketchbook!

One thought on “Balboa Park – San Diego, CA

Leave a Reply

