Summer

Hey guess what? I have a blog!

Sorry I’ve been a bit absent around here, but we’ve been enjoying our summer, so I haven’t posted since our trip to San Diego. It’s just some plain ol’ summer fun we’ve been having, so here’s a peek at what we’ve been up to.

Warning:  It’s random. Very, very random.

We’ve been antiquing…

Untitled

and my youngest always finds the guitars and plays them while we shop.Untitled

My oldest is driving me everywhere. This is just weird. Overall he is doing good. I’ve only screamed like a crazy lady once, other than that he’s pretty good.

Untitled

My children cannot resist the white board in my husbands office. Sometimes I wonder, what do people think when they walk in there and see this?Untitled

I caught Gone With the Wind on AMC. I love this movie so much. I started calling Ol’ Blue Eyes Rhett, so I could dramatically say “Oh Rhett!” He didn’t respond much to that, in fact I think he thought I temporarily lost my mind. Maybe I did but, ” I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”Untitled

Rhett, I mean Ol’ Blue Eyes painted the kitchen white for me. My kitchen has been a white balance nightmare, so we fixed that. Even my cabinets are white now. OH HAPPY DAY I am so happy with it! Now time for me to paint a few canvases for the breakfast area but that will have to wait for now, “Fiddledee dee!”

Untitled

On July 4th, my family thought that it was a good idea to for all of us to climb on the roof and watch the fireworks all over town. It’s true, you could see fireworks 360 degrees all around us, but I was too busy having a panic attack to enjoy it. I may have noticed my kids were pros at get up and down off the roof… and I may have also noticed that one of my neighbors chimney looked liked it could have been shot with a paintball gun (ahem)… but I can’t be real sure about that because I was too preoccupied with the fact that I was resting my foot on my skylight and that everything could collapse at any given moment. My oldest punk felt sorry for me, so he came and sat by me and talked me down off the roof. Mental note: I’m not doing that again, especially in my ugly shoes.

Untitled

I am learning to knit! I know, this is very exciting. Besides the fact that I feel like a granny while I’m doing it, I love knitting. I’ve crocheted since I was a little girl, but knitting is new to me. Does this mean I’m getting old? Wait. Don’t answer that.

Untitled

We’ve been swimming. Lots. Of. Laps. It’s been a daily exercise for us to swim atleast a mile. It’s not easy, and when my punks want to race me, I have to remind them that I’m older and that I need my Geritol pills first. Then they ask me, what’s Geritol? Nevermind.

Untitled

This is the most you will see of me on this blog at the swimming pool… You’re welcome.

Untitled

I got a Lifeproof case for my iPhone, so it can go underwater. I don’t care who you are, it’s just pretty darn cool to take pictures under water.

Untitled

My golden becomes completely irrational when the trash man comes. The trash man has come Tuesday and Thursday every week of his existence, but he just can’t handle it. I don’t know why, it’s just an enigma yet somehow we are amused and entertained. It’s the simple things I guess.Untitled

We went to the lake with my dad on his duck boat.

Untitled

My youngest got up on skis, but we decided the duck boat couldn’t pull me or my oldest out the the water. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Untitled

My oldest got to enjoy the inter-tube and we had lots of fun. I don’t know how his neck handled it, but we were all sore for the next three days. Mental note: Don’t try to ski again and next time ask someone to put sunscreen on your back.
Untitled

Untitled

We’ve played a few tennis matches in 100+ heat… which means I get to watch in 100+ heat. At the end of the day we’re all zombies, but this is what he loves, so this is what we do.  I love watching him, especially when he gets feisty on the court. It’s just hard to play your best in this heat.

Untitled

Untitled

My brother in law finds the weirdest stuff, but last summer he came over with this huge chalkboard. One of our local middle schools was tearing out the chalkboards and putting in white boards, so he brought us one. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it, so we finally hung it in my oldest punks room and he is thrilled. There’s some serious project planning happening in there. He’s going to make a sword. He’s made swords before, so this creativity isn’t new, but he’s loving all the space to draw out his plans.

Untitled

I made some huevo in the hole. Pioneer Woman posted the recipe yesterday.

Untitled

They were so good! Make them SOON!

Untitled

Ol’ Blue Eyes is still working on Humpty (66 Mustang). All the Kings horsemen need to show up around here and put Humpty back together again.

Untitled

My golden is being severely mistreated. He gets no. love. at. all.

Untitled

We’ve had some pretty big thunderheads that refuse to pour down on us, and I’m tired of it. Send the rain! (shaking fists at the sky)

Untitled

But they sure are pretty to look at. I took this with my iPhone out my front door last night.

Untitled

And that’s a wrap! I’m sure there’s more boring details that I left out, fiddledee dee!

What have you been up to this summer? I hope it’s been great! Now if we could just make a trip to the mountains, our summer will be complete! Can you believe school is right around the corner?

One thought on “Summer

Leave a Reply

